Hola, ¿que tal?

First week: accomplished.  Yes, there were some semi-severe bumps along the way – but I’m alive and well here in this lovely town of Coruña, figuring “it” out more everyday.  I’ve come to find out that my school is excellent; the students, at least half the time, are charming.  On Friday I received gifts from three classes, which were adorable hand drawn cards welcoming me to their school. Precious!  Also, the other teachers are always willing to lend a hand, to help me find the classroom I’m looking for, and the music teacher Susi has invited me to come stay the weekend with her and her family in a pueblo nearby.  Sweet!  (I’ve posted a picture of the report on Seattle here, just look how damn cute it is.)

Let’s see what’s next… first real weekend here!  Well, I participated in 9 holes of Pub Golf, wherein a group of 15 or so of us went to 9 different bars and had a drink at each, counting our total sips as golf strokes.  On this night I met a ton of other american auxiliares teaching here, saw all the cool bars in town, had an amazing mojito, and… managed to get my iPhone stolen.  Needless to say I’m a little bummed about that last part, but in the grand scheme of things I’d still say that life RULES.  I live in Spain, my job is awesome, my roommate is the coolest, and I’ve got friends all around Europe that I plan to visit.  Perspective: boom!

That last photo is me and my new pal Anne.  We are currently roommates but longterm friends. 🙂  It’s been super nice to find somebody whom I click with, especially here in a faraway country.  Anne was my compañera the first night I went out to the bars in A Coruña, and we spent the whole walk talking about Sex and the City (bottle of wine in hand).  Woohoo!  (She’s Carrie – I’m Charlotte.) Also Anne is from Germany so I’ll visit her when she finishes her semester here in February.

Another note: despite what everyone might say and think, being a vegetarian in Spain has been relatively easy for me.  Normally I eat at home, which is the biggest help for both my dietary restrictions and my budget, but when I do go out I simply ask the waiter what on the menu is vegetariana.  This is good!  I am happy!  I’ve only slipped once: on that first Friday I arrived in town I ordered a potato salad which happened to have tuna in it.  Luckily, I was so tired and desperate that I just let it slide.  But now, after a week with a kitchen, I’ve decided to try my hand at one (not necessarily beloved, but still good) Spanish dish.  I whipped up some sofrito (kinda like a Spanish marinera sauce) today, and let me just say – IT’S SUPER GOOD.  The recipe is here: Sofrito Recipe.  Also, if you are interested in making sofrito, make sure to add like 10 large cloves of garlic.  The recipe only calls for 2 but trust me on this one, more garlic = more better.

Work again tomorrow!  I almost feel comfortable standing in front of a class… maybe by the end of this week it’ll be just about natural. 🙂  If not, I always have my new pink skinny jeans to give me confidence (photos to follow!).

One thought on “Hola, ¿que tal?

  1. So much fun to hear all about your adventures! The kids must be fun & who knew golf could be so exciting! Sounds like you’re getting settled nicely, Charlotte! Looking forward to your next post! Love you! :0)

Leave a comment